15 September 2004 Wednesday

  • Formula in Adultery
    When the opposition of the Republican Peoples Party (CHP) was also added to the reactions raised from the domestic and foreign ......
  • 90 Trials for 192 Editions of Daily Gundem
    Editor-in-chief Ucar said 12 new cases have been brought against the daly Ulkede Ozgur Gundem after the DGMs were annulled. It ......
  • Reforms Yet Insufficient for Free Speech
    IHD workers Salman and Kizgin are being tried for insulting state officials because of their posts. The same people are trying ......

14 September 2004 Tuesday

09 September 2004 Thursday

  • Mediterranean, Time Bomb!
    Greens from Turkey and Spain urge for resignation of their respective Ministers of Environment for their part in the sinking of ......

08 September 2004 Wednesday

  • Turkey Should Be Welcomed in The EU
    An independent Commission comprising of prominent European politicians such as Martti Ahtisaari former Finland president and former EU commissioner Hans van ......

06 September 2004 Monday

01 September 2004 Wednesday

31 August 2004 Tuesday

  • Bring The Junta to Justice
    The Seventy-eighters Initiative urges for prosecution of the leaders of the 1980 military coup. Labor unions, political parties and professional chambers ......
  • Change of Mentality on August 30
    The Turkish Armed Forces implemented a series of changes at the August 30 Victory Day celebrations, launching civilianization. In this years ......

27 August 2004 Friday

  • Adultery War Between AKP and CHP
    Justice and Development Party AKP called on Parliament for an extraordinary session on September 14, to tackle the Penal Law motion. ......

26 August 2004 Thursday

25 August 2004 Wednesday

24 August 2004 Tuesday

23 August 2004 Monday

  • Allow Us, Let Us Try
    The Chief Public Prosecutor has asked for an investigation permit from the Transport minister Yildirim for Karaman, General Manager of the ......
  • Nazimes Husband Burned Her to Death
    Alir asked for help from the officials before she was murdered. The subgoverner is now full of regret. The villagers and ......
  • Color & Language Phobia Should be Overcome
    Nearly 200 people, including 86 women, had signed up for the Kurdish language courses so far, but they did not accept ......

20 August 2004 Friday

19 August 2004 Thursday

17 August 2004 Tuesday

  • Kurdish Villagers Forced to Leave Home
    Ilicak village residents of Beytussebap are forced to leave their homes under orders by local gendarme commander, say Human Rights Association ......

16 August 2004 Monday

13 August 2004 Friday

11 August 2004 Wednesday

10 August 2004 Tuesday

  • Cicek: Turkey Fulfilled all Conditions for EU
    Cicek says any additional legal arrangement is out of question for EUs setting a negotiation date for Turkey. additional legal arrangement ......
  • EU will Fund Demining of Cyprus
    The European Union will provide 2.5 million euros for the demining of Cyprus. With the project, beginning in the no-man zone ......
  • Women Ask for Shelters
    The Metropolitan Municipality responded to shelter demands by saying it will support a womens shelter opened by the Human Resources Development ......

06 August 2004 Friday

05 August 2004 Thursday

04 August 2004 Wednesday

03 August 2004 Tuesday

02 August 2004 Monday

29 July 2004 Thursday

  • EU Inspired Laws Remain on Paper
    The number of detentions increase as prosecutions decrease after the adoption of the Seventh Reform Package to broaden the right to ......

28 July 2004 Wednesday

26 July 2004 Monday

23 July 2004 Friday

22 July 2004 Thursday

19 July 2004 Monday

14 July 2004 Wednesday

  • Kids for FreedomBrings Children to Marmaris
    63 children from six different countries, all from economically disadvantaged families and suffering from psychological problems, came to Marmaris through an ......
  • Court of Appeals Turns DEP Sentences
    Turkish Supreme Court of Appeals overturned on Wednesday conviction of four former Democracy Party deputies including Leyla Zana, Orhan Dogan, Hatip ......
  • Torture Cases Decreasing
    Of 139 complaints filed with the Prime Ministry Human Rights Department over the past six months, only seven of the cases ......

13 July 2004 Tuesday

12 July 2004 Monday

  • Can Turkey Digest Reforms?
    It is unfortunate that the ECHR in its recent decision sustaining the headscarf ban in Turkish universities has fully adopted the ......
  • Wedding of the Year: East & West Together
    Prime Minister Erdogans daughter got married with Berat Albayrak, the son of correspondent Sadik Albayrak. About 7,000 guests, including Jordanian King ......

08 July 2004 Thursday

07 July 2004 Wednesday

06 July 2004 Tuesday

05 July 2004 Monday

02 July 2004 Friday

01 July 2004 Thursday

30 June 2004 Wednesday

29 June 2004 Tuesday

  • Radyo Dunya Can get Disbanded
    DGM asked the Industry and Commerce Ministry to disband a company that owns Radyo Dunya. The radio is being sued for ......
  • Turkey to Train Iraqi Police
    Turkey, who assumed responsibility within the framework of the decision made by NATO, will train the Iraqi police. The training is ......
  • Scheffer: New forces in Afganistan in 6 Weeks
    De Hoop Scheffer and Afghan President Hamid Karzai held a joint news conference on the second day of NATO Summit. Scheffer ......
  • Women Writers Protest NATO
    The Turkey PEN Women Writers Committee announced their opposition to war and all initiatives in support of war. We are protesting ......
  • Police Intervenes in NATO Protest
    Police fired chemical gas on the group, which had gathered in protest of the NATO summit. We wont remain silent as ......

28 June 2004 Monday

24 June 2004 Thursday

  • Global BAK: Dont Let Bush into Parliament
    Global BAK participants mailed postcards to members of the parliament. The postcards had photographs of torture in Iraq. Dont let Bush ......
  • Explosion in Ankara
    Noting that anybody had not yet claimed the responsibility for the explosion, Aksu said that marginal, small scale terrorist organizations staged ......
  • Bus Bombing in Istanbul
    A bomb exploded on public bus in the Capa district of Istanbul, killing three and injuring 21. The blast reportedly occurred ......
  • Journalist Relagated Ahead of NATO Summit
    According to journalists, TRT reporter Demirs temporary appointment to Erzurum amounts to an exile. We will show our reaction as TGC, ......

23 June 2004 Wednesday

22 June 2004 Tuesday

  • Trial for Education in Mother Tongues
    Aygun, head of the Tunceli Bar, is standing trial for getting people chant slogans during Newroz celebrations. He says he did ......
  • A Bird Not To Fly Over NATO
    F-16s will patrol the skies, and ground any object that violates the air space prohibition. Beginning to west of Bakirkoy, it ......
  • Monitoring Process Ends
    The Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe AKPM is expacted to terminate the monitoring process which it imposed on Turkey ......
  • Erdogan: Go Home Era Has Ended
    PM Erdogan addressed those who opposed to the NATO Summit saying, The mentality of Go home should be overcome. He said ......

21 June 2004 Monday