18 October 2002 Friday

17 October 2002 Thursday

15 October 2002 Tuesday

14 October 2002 Monday

10 October 2002 Thursday

09 October 2002 Wednesday

08 October 2002 Tuesday

07 October 2002 Monday

01 October 2002 Tuesday

28 September 2002 Saturday

  • EC Representative to Turkey Starts
    Ambassador Hansjörg Kretschmer, Head of the European Commission Representation to Turkey, officially assumed his duties today after he handed over the ......
  • Turkey, Armenia, Azerbaijan Journalists
    On September 20-24 in the vicinity of Turkish Kusadasi town the final third meeting of the Armenian, Azerbaijan and Turkish journalists ......

27 September 2002 Friday

24 September 2002 Tuesday

19 September 2002 Thursday

  • Amnestys Report on Turkey
    Amnesty Internationals recent report on Turkey reads: Freedom of expression,freedom of association, human rights defenders, torture and pre-trial detention, impunity, judiciary ......
  • EU Warned of Torture in Turkey
    Amnesty Internationals letter to Günter Verheugen Commissioner for Enlargement of European Commission: Forthcoming assessment of Turkeys progress towards fulfilling the Copenhagen ......
  • Women in Turkish Politics
    Pro-Islamist Vakit newspaper columnist Erarslan: Women are not fully represented in the Parliament. The deputy candidate lists include elite women instead ......

17 September 2002 Tuesday

16 September 2002 Monday

  • Children Speak Out
    The children of public workers listed their demands at the protest by the Mersin branch platform of KESK: We want free ......

13 September 2002 Friday

  • Women Discuss Women in Politics
    Seyman, Karakus, Boyali and Sancar, talks about womens roles in the political parties: We are very active, but we cant come ......
  • Diyarbakir-Istanbul Art Network
    The people in Diyarbakir embraced Serhat Adas words during the Art Centers opening: People always talk about we and they, there ......

12 September 2002 Thursday

10 September 2002 Tuesday

09 September 2002 Monday

07 September 2002 Saturday

06 September 2002 Friday

03 September 2002 Tuesday

31 August 2002 Saturday

30 August 2002 Friday

  • Serbesti Magazine Confiscated
    The State Security Court ordered the confiscation of the Fall 2002 issue of Serbesti Magazine, saying that it disseminated separatist propaganda. ......
  • Denktas-Clerides Talks In the Eyes Of South
    Cypriot Fileleftheros Newspaper wrote that Annan would put forward an ultimatum-like solution proposal. Haravgi newspaper said that Denktas and Clerides talked ......

29 August 2002 Thursday

26 August 2002 Monday

  • Kurdish Students Will Return to School
    The National Security Council decided in its last meeting that the students,who were expelled for signing petitions demanding Kurdish lessons, could ......
  • Joint Irrigation Project With Syria
    Syria and Turkey signed a joint communiqué of projects of regional development, irrigation and agriculture. During a four-day visit, the group ......
  • The Journalist Demands to be Tried Again
    Journalist Kizilyaprak of the closed-down Ozgur Bakis, will apply to the attorney generalship. He demands to be retried under the deregulated ......
  • Dev- Yol Trial Continues for 22 Years
    The Revoluatarny path Dev-Yol trial continues even after 22 years. Opened under the Military rule, the case comprises 723 Dev-Yol affilates ......

20 August 2002 Tuesday

19 August 2002 Monday

17 August 2002 Saturday

  • Journalism Challenges to Turkey
    Journalism and The Human Rights Challenge to Turkey. Report of the IFJ / EFJ Mission to Turkey in April 26-30 April, ......

15 August 2002 Thursday

14 August 2002 Wednesday

13 August 2002 Tuesday

12 August 2002 Monday

  • Strike at Incirlik Air Base
    Incirlik American Air Bases Turkish workers are on strike with demands of a pay rise. This is the fifth labor strike ......
  • Locals Debate on Media Freedom
    Its thought that the EU-reforms are positive yet inadequate. According to the local media organizations, it depends on implementation. Kara from ......

10 August 2002 Saturday

  • Sokaktan
    Istanbul - Mustafa Ocaklioglu (30),works in the tourism sector: Abolishing death penalty is a positive step. Kurdish is already being ......
  • Who is the Biggest Traitor?
    Sener Levent, the director of the Afrika published in the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, and writer Ener were arrested and ......

09 August 2002 Friday

08 August 2002 Thursday

  • The Last Struggle of the Publisher
    Ayse Nur Zarakolu was a publisher. She got several awards and faced with trials and sentences. She passed away in January ......
  • The Joy of Search Authorization and Bread
    The soldier searched a house in the village of Catma with authorization for the first time in 22 years. The food ......
  • Turkeys Reforms
    Human Rights Watch: Turkeys Bold Reforms Fail Imprisoned Legislators. Death Penalty, Language Restrictions Abolished; Kurdish Parliamentarians Still Jailed ...
  • Reforms Not Enough, Implementation Essential
    Lawyer Ilkiz, journalist Boncuk and activist Yurdatapan comments on Turkeys move to abolish death penalty, allow Kurdish education and broadcasts, and ......
  • Reforms In Baggage Turkey Knocks EUs Door
    Package abolishes death penalty, brings freedom of education and broadcast in non-Turkish languages, freedom of criticism of the state organs, easing ......

07 August 2002 Wednesday

  • US Pushes Turkey Toward The Red Line
    With the nationalists likely to make these new laws the central issue in early parliamentary elections scheduled for November 3, there ......

06 August 2002 Tuesday

05 August 2002 Monday

03 August 2002 Saturday

02 August 2002 Friday

  • Turkey: Publisher Convicted
    Keskin, charged with separatist propaganda for publishing a journalist Randals book about Turkeys Kurdish minority. population, was sentenced to a six-month ......

01 August 2002 Thursday

31 July 2002 Wednesday

  • Turkey: Claim Over Arab Lands
    A major United Arab Emirates Arabic daily: Anytime there is escalation in the US threat of striking Iraq, the Turkish media ......
  • The Mausoleums of Mem and Zin are Restored
    Ahmedi Xani had written in Kurdish, about the eternal love of Mem and Zin in Cizre, during the years 1450-1451, 240 ......
  • Industrialists Against the Iraq Operation
    The business premises of Adana, Gaziantep and Diyarbakir, are worried about the effects on economy of a prospective attack on Iraq. ......
  • Daddys Job Is My Future
    Workers children visited their fathers at the Pasabahce SiseCam Factory. The workers began the protest nine days ago, when the production ......

25 July 2002 Thursday

24 July 2002 Wednesday

  • 2 Hellman / Hammett Awards Go To Turkey
    Banned, Censored, Harassed and Jailed. 37 Writers from 19 Countries Receive Hellman/Hammett Grants. Photojournalist and human rights activist Dayanan and Professor ......

23 July 2002 Tuesday

22 July 2002 Monday

18 July 2002 Thursday

16 July 2002 Tuesday

12 July 2002 Friday

  • Iraq Operation Not Realistic
    Syrian Journalist Husnu Mahalli: The USA states that it will attack Iraq. But the only country in the region, which has ......

10 July 2002 Wednesday

09 July 2002 Tuesday

  • The Smoking Age is Going Down
    According to a study by Selcuk University, the smoking age is going down. The main reason for starting to smoke is ......
  • Girls Kept Out of Formal Education
    According to the Ministry of National Education, 152 thousand and 703 girls in Turkey, who should be receiving compulsory primary education, ......